DIGIT-ARC read-only archive · snapshot: July 23, 2026

Awesome photoshop Tutorial!! - Fireball

8 posts · originally from https://geek.digit.in/community/threads/awesome-photoshop-tutorial-fireball.49209/

cyborg47
cyborg47 Original post #1
Feb 11, 2007 at 7:42 PM
In this tutorial, we will create a fireball effect in photoshop;) .

:!: Throughout the tutorial, the elliptical selection must not be deselected.
*img405.imageshack.us/img405/8268/untitled1ps6.th.jpg;)

  • Make a new page of 1024X768, with black background.
  • After you open the page, make the colors default(black as foreground and white as background).
  • Select the elliptical marquee tool and make a selection. Your size of the selection will be the size of the fireball.
  • Now after you make a elliptical selection, go to Filter>Render and click on Clouds.
  • Go to Filter>Render and click on Difference Clouds.
  • Hit Ctrl+I and Ctrl+L to open the Levels panel. Set the Input Levels to 0, 0.10, 225, means hold the gray mark and pull it to the right corner of the graph.
  • Now go to Filter>Distort and click on Spherize, set the mode to Normal and the amount to 100 and click OK. Hit Ctr+F.
  • Now go to Filter>Stylize and click on Find Edges and hit Ctrl+I.
  • Hit Ctrl+U and set these values,
  • Hue – 0
  • Saturation – 100 select colorize and click OK
  • Duplicate the layer(make sure the duplicated layer will be on top of original layer) and hit Ctrl+U and set these values,
  • Hue – 40
  • Saturation – 100 deselect colorize and click OK.
  • Set the blending mode of duplicated layer to Linear Dodge.
  • Merge the layers by hitting Ctrl+E.
  • Repeat these 16 steps and create three layers.
  • After repeating those 16 steps, you will get three layers of the fireball.
  • Now set the blending mode of the topmost layer to Linear Dodge, and of the second the layer to Linear light, and of the third layer to normal.
  • Merge all the layers.
  • Now apply some outer glow and inner glow effects of your own desired values.
  • You can apply and other effect instead of step 21, deselect the elliptical selection by hitting Ctrl+D and go to Filter>Distort and click on Polar Coordinates, select Polar to Rectangular and click OK.
  • Now go to Image>Rotate Canvas and click on 90CW.
  • Go to Filter>Stylize and click on Wind, select From the Right and click OK. Ctrl+F once.
  • Go to Image>Rotate Canvas and click ok 90CCW.
  • Go to Filter>Distort and click on Polar Coordinates, select Rectangular to Polar and click OK.
  • You can stop here, if you want some more effects, go to Image>Mode and click on Gray Scale.
  • Go to Image>Mode and click on Indexed Layers.
  • Go to Image>Mode and click on Color Table, switch from Gray Scale to Black Body, and click OK.
  • :D Thanks for viewing my tutorial.
Tech Geek
Feb 14, 2007 at 9:04 PM
Nice
Thanks
cyborg47
Feb 14, 2007 at 9:39 PM
Tech Geek said:
Nice
Thanks

I m glad atleast one of you viewed it. I think lot of members are not interested in photoshop at all.
S
SE> #4
Feb 14, 2007 at 10:22 PM
Simple yet effective :D
The wind effect added that extra touch.
cyborg47
Feb 15, 2007 at 9:20 AM
SE><IE said:
Simple yet effective :D
The wind effect added that extra touch.

thanx dude!:D
Tech Geek
Feb 15, 2007 at 9:18 PM
cyborg47 said:
I m glad atleast one of you viewed it. I think lot of members are not interested in photoshop at all.
Atleast i am intrested
blueshift
Feb 15, 2007 at 9:35 PM
Thank you cyborg.