DIGIT-ARC read-only archive · snapshot: July 23, 2026

:::::boxes Effect In Photoshop::::::

4 posts · originally from https://geek.digit.in/community/threads/boxes-effect-in-photoshop.49964/

::cyborg::
::cyborg:: Original post #1
Feb 19, 2007 at 1:57 PM
Step 1:
Open your image. :)

*img208.imageshack.us/img208/6816/mitslancerevo101600ip7.th.jpg

Step 2:
Duplicate the layer by clicking Layer>New> Layer via copy or by pressing Ctrl+J.

Step 3:
Change the blend mode of the newly created layer to Overlay and then go to Filter> Pixelate>Mozaic. Give a cell size of about 30-70 depending on the size of your image. again, its a trial and error technique.

Step 4:
Next use the Maximum filter by going to Filter>other>Maximum and give the same value amount as you had given for the Mozaic.

Step 5:
Duplicate the second layer to get a third layer. Change its blend mode to Multiply and then go to Filter> Stylize >Find Edges.

Step 6:
Go to the Image>Adjustments>Brightness and contrast and raise the contrast to about 80-90. Then adjust your brightness to reduce or increase the number of boxes

Tip: If you find your background image a bit too bright, select the "background" layer or the original layer and adjust the brightness and contrast of that layer itself.

see mine

*img412.imageshack.us/img412/3272/mitslancersl3.th.jpg

Waiting for ur comments :rolleyes:


::cyborg:: :D
Sand
Sand #2
Feb 19, 2007 at 2:15 PM
Read ur signature and rep'd u but seriously it is a helpful post
::cyborg::
Feb 20, 2007 at 2:16 PM
@sand

thanks dude
Tech Geek
Feb 20, 2007 at 3:39 PM
Nice tut
i was searching for such a tut last week
thanks